Artist Statement

In my art, I want to expose a piece of life that we see on a daily basis, but don’t normally think about. I want to inspire people to open their eyes further when they go through life and notice every little thing that makes their personal experience unique. Too often, people are trapped in their own conscience and fail to recognize the beauty that surrounds them—whether it be the people that they share space with, or the structures that they inhabit.

In my artwork, I don’t try to create situations or construct reality, I simply capture what is right in front of me. And once I have captured my image, it is up to the viewer to interpret it. One of the greatest aspects about art is that it is not clearly defined, it is up for interpretation. 

Through my work, I hope to both inspire and humble by audience. I am not a photographer, filmmaker, painter, or sculptor. I am not even an artist. I am simply someone who takes the time to pause, appreciate the beauty that surrounds us, and share it with those who care to appreciate it with me. 

~ by jakesquier on May 8, 2012.

Leave a comment